Latest News

Save the Date

The next Annual Scientific Meeting will be in Sheffield.

Thursday 26th - Friday 27th April 2018.

2 StR training positions (ST1) in Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology available at Barts Health NHS Trust, London.

Deadline- 29 September 2018

Queries: Prof Kim Piper-

Read more news...

About the Society

What is Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology?

Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology is that part of pathology concerned with the scientific study of the causes and effects of disease in the oral and maxillo-facial complex, an understanding of which is essential for diagnosis and for the development of rational treatment and preventative programmes.

Aim of The British Society for Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology

The aim of the Society is to promote and encourage the study and practice of Oral Pathology and to facilitate communication between pathologists particularly those with an interest in oral, dental, maxillofacial & ENT diseases.  The annual subscription is only £15

Brief History of Oral Pathology

The first United Kingdom Chair in Oral Pathology was that created in 1944 in Newcastle and held by Robert Bradlaw although there had been two Chairs in Dental Surgery and Pathology in the 1930s. However, in 1892, there was a Chair in Oral Pathology and Surgery at the Dental College of Michigan, USA and in 1906, a Department of Oral Pathology was founded in Tokyo Dental College, Japan.

Brief History of the Society

The society evolved from an informal gathering known as the Oral Pathology Club. The inaugural meeting was held in Birmingham in September 1967 when 33 members met under the Chairmanship of Professor John Boyes. The group decided that the club should be informal with no written constitution. However, it soon became apparent that some guidelines on membership were needed and draft regulations were drawn up a year later. In 1976, the Club was formally replaced by the British Society for Oral Pathology; 
at that time, the Presidents were elected according to the venue for the Annual Scientific Meeting. In 1988, the constitution was amended to allow for a three year Presidential term of office. Potential nominees must be Members of the Royal College of Pathologists by examination. 
The venue for the Annual Meeting continues to rotate around the country. In 1999 the name was again changed to the British Society for Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology (BSOMP) to properly reflect the nature of the specialty.
(For a full commentary on the political and scientific developments in Oral Pathology, see Oral Pathology 25 years on: The British Society for Oral Pathology Silver Jubilee Lecture. Kramer IRH. J Oral Pathol Med 1994; 23:49-54.)

Structure of The British Society for Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology

Currently, there are over 130 members of the Society; these comprise 1 Honorary Member, 17 Life Members and 94 Ordinary Members. Of these, 27 are overseas members.
The Society affairs are managed by a Council, which meets twice yearly; it comprises the Officers, Elected Councillors and Co-opted members.

The Officers of the Council are the President, Immediate Past President, President Elect, Honorary Secretary and Honorary Treasurer, the EQA organiser and a Juniors’ representative. In addition, there are three co-opted Councillors and one co-opted member who acts as the Specialty Adviser to the Royal College of Pathologists.

Past Presidents:

Oral Pathology Club

1967-68 Prof. J Boyes (Edinburgh)
1969 Prof RB Lucas (Royal Dental, London)
1970 Prof ED Farmer (Liverpool)
1971 Prof IRH Kramer (Eastman, London)
1972 Prof I Rannie (Newcastle)
1973 Prof BED Cooke (Cardiff)
1974 Prof AEW Miles (The London Hospital)
1975 Prof DK Mason (Glasgow)

The British Society for Oral Pathology

1976 Prof JH Jones (Manchester)
1977 Prof RA Cawson (Guys)
1978 Prof AI Darling (Bristol)
1979 Prof B Cohen (Royal College of Surgeons England)
1980 Prof CJ Smith (Sheffield)
1981 Prof AS Prophet (UCL, London)
1982 Prof FE Hopper (Leeds)
1983 Prof JR Garrett (King’s College, London)
1984 Prof DG Chisolm (Dundee)
1985 Prof RM Browne (Birmingham)
1986 Prof JC Southam (Edinburgh)
1987 Mr KW Lee (Eastman)
1988-91 Dr DG MacDonald (Glasgow)
1991-94 Prof RM Browne (Birmingham)
1994-97 Prof JV Soames (Newcastle)

The British Society for Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology

1997-00 Dr GT Craig (Sheffield)
2000-03 Prof PM Speight (Eastman)
2003-06 Prof J Eveson (Bristol)
2006-09 Prof CD Franklin (Sheffield)
2009-12 Prof P Sloan (Newcastle)
2012-15 Prof PR Morgan (Guys)

Current President

Prof P Farthing (Sheffield)

Society Journal

The official journal of the Society is the Journal of Oral Pathology and Medicine